Rune

Instruments

Clarke original D whistle

Whistle picture

Sound sample

It has a very soft sound. It is rather quiet on the first octave, but ok on the second. It requires a little more breath than most whistles. It doesn't need a lot of back pressure to reach the second octave. Clarke now makes it with a flattened windway which requires less air. Mine is with the rounded windway.

Clarke original C whistle

Whistle picture

Sound sample

It is also quite a soft whistle. It requires even more breath than its sister D whistle. It needs average back pressure to reach the second octave.

Jerry Freeman tweaked Generation D whistle

Whistle picture

Sound sample

A very well balanced whistle. Perfect for beginners. It requires few air, average back pressure and is pretty responsive. Thanks to Jerry Freeman work, the playability is perfect. However I think it has a little bit less chiff than the untweaked version.

Susato D whistle

Whistle picture

Sound sample

Definitely a loud whistle, almost agressive, especially in the second octave, which needs a lot of back pressure to be reached. Otherwise it requires few air and is very responsive. Ideal for loud sessions.

Shaw A whistle

Whistle picture

Sound sample

A pretty loud whistle. It requires quite a lot of air and back pressure. But it has a great chiff and tone. The last hole has an unusual spacing. Overall I would say it is typically the kind of whistle that "fights back".

Shaw low D whistle

Whistle picture

Sound sample

This whistle is very soft and breathy. It requires a lot of air and average back pressure. It has a very "flute like" tone. It can sometimes play out of tune in the second octave because of water condensation, but plays perfectly once warmed.

Rune

Instruments

Clarke original en Ré

Whistle picture

Extrait sonore

Cette flûte a un son très doux. Elle est plutôt discrète sur le premier octave, mais normale sur le second. Elle requiert un peu plus de souffle que la majorité des flûtes. Le second octave est relativement facile à atteindre. La société Clarke propose maintenant une version avec le bec aplati qui requiert moins d'air. La mienne possède un bec arrondi.

Clarke original en Do

Whistle picture

Extrait sonore

Celle-ci est aussi assez douce. Elle requiert encore plus de souffle que sa soeur en Ré. Elle nécessite une pression moyenne pour atteindre le second octave.

Generation en Ré "trafiquée" par Jerry Freeman

Whistle picture

Extrait sonore

Une flûte très équilibrée. Parfaite pour les débutants. Elle nécessite peu de souffle, une pression moyenne et réagit assez dynamiquement. Grâce au travail de Jerry Freeman, la jouabilité est parfaite. Cependant, je pense que celle-ci à un peu moins de "chiff" que la version non-trafiquée.

Susato en Ré

Whistle picture

Extrait sonore

Certainement une flûte bruyante, presque agressive, particulièrement dans le second octave, qui a besoin de beaucoup de pression pour être atteint. Autrement, elle ne nécessite pas beaucoup de souffle et réagit très bien. Idéale pour les sessions bruyantes.

Shaw en La

Whistle picture

Extrait sonore

Une flûte assez bruyante. Elle nécessite plutôt pas mal de souffle et de pression. Mais elle a un timbre intéressant. Le dernier trou a un espacement un peu inhabituel. Dans l'ensemble, je dirais que c'est le type de flûte qui ne se laisse pas faire !

Shaw en Ré (basse)

Whistle picture

Extrait sonore

Cette flûte est très douce et aérienne. Elle nécessite beaucoup de souffle et passe plutôt facilement dans le second octave. Elle a un timbre se rapprochant de celui des flûtes traversières irlandaises en bois. Elle joue parfois un peu faux dans le second octave à cause de la condensation, mais parfaitement à chaud.